New Music Monday Picks For July 18

Your New Music Monday picks for July 18 and blue-eyed soul, tunes from the Tar Heel State and a plea for peace:

Fact: these past couple of weeks have been emotionally draining and exceedingly tough to swallow, but now there’s a spot of calm in the chaos, thanks to Jim James and My Morning Jacket. “Magic Bullet,” written in the aftermath of Baton Rouge, Minnesota and Dallas, is a heartfelt, funkified plea for peace, love and understanding – and an end to the bloodletting and hatred enshrouding the planet like a woolen cloak on a 105-degree day. Preach it, Brother Jim.

Known for her work with Wye Oak and Dungeonesse, Jenn Wasner’s spent the last few years designing her own signature guitar and crafting pop perfection with her full-time solo project Flock of Dimes. If You See Me, Say Yes is the groove-infused result of that endeavor, mixed by Dallas’ very own production wunderkind John Congleton, while “Semaphore” is the sparkly new jam jockeying for its rightful position on your summer playlist. The album lands September 23, and Three Links is where you can catch Flock of Dimes on November 11.

Lucky for us, UK soul artist Jamie Lidell made the move from the London to Nashville, bringing his sun-kissed sound with him, and finding the perfect writing collaborator in his wife. Inspired by Stevie Wonder, a label switch and the birth of his son, the aptly-named Building A Beginning will be available in October. “Walk Right Back” will put the spring back in your step, and maybe make you believe in hope all over again.

Channeling the spirit of the 70’s FM-scape, Hiss Golden Messenger’s new single “Biloxi” opens the floodgates of introspection and intimacy, and is guaranteed to soothe the soul of fans who’ve been waiting patiently for the follow-up to 2014’s Lateness Of Dancers. Enlisting the help of Bradley and Phil Cook from Megafaun, Bon Iver’s Matt McCaughan and Tift Merritt, frontman M.C. Taylor springs back with Heart Like A Levee, arriving October 7 via Merge. As an added bonus for fans, pre-orders for the deluxe edition of the album will include Vestapol, a collection of eight unreleased tracks written during the sessions for Heart Like A Levee.